Africa Big Five

The Big Five include the Rhino, Elephant, Cape buffalo, Leopard, and Lion. When you see these magnificent big mammals in the wild, you are startled by their beauty and majesty. Each has its own unique distinctive characteristics. These characteristics include specific biological features and survival patterns. Because of their unusual behaviors and hunting habits, they are fascinating to watch as they survive in their natural habitats. They are rare and difficult to locate. This makes them prey to hunters who have hunted them to near extinction.

African Lions

africa lion

Lions are the only social big cat, but don’t expect to see the king. There isn’t one. These big cats are not born into a rank. They are egalitarian, which means they don’t have a permanent social hierarchy. One male may be dominant over the others, but that can change at any time. Lion society is also matrilineal, so the females hold the territories, and stay with the pride into which they’re born.

African lions attacking prey are very tactical. They hunt primarily at night when their prey cannot see them due to a crystal substance located behind their retinas that processes light so they see with just 16% of the light other animals need to see. As a result, they have advantages other animals do not have to hunt which possibly led them to be called the “king of the jungle.” Lions hunt either individually or collectively. Females, called lionesses, do most of the hunting.

Their hunting activity, which also takes place during the day, is one of the most fascinating activities visitors enjoy watching as it combines strategy with power, speed, and agility. Lions are gregarious animals and can often be seen playing with their pride (a lion-lioness group) which can comprise up to 30-40 members. They feed based on a hierarchy in which after the lioness kills their prey, it is brought to the lion who distributes the food. Baby lions are fed last and often starve. Though lions are carnivores, they are often found eating grasses, which they use to eliminate fur, swallowed while consuming other animals.



This is the most elusive, and also the smallest, of the five. The leopard is different from the cheetah. The latter is a body with a sharp body and a sensitive movement. It is the fastest animal in the world. The leopard has larger spots and larger body shapes, most leopards are light-colored, with distinctive dark spots that are called rosettes.

It likes to climb trees and raids, so it is the most difficult animal to see among the five beasts. Leopards are carnivores that usually hunt at night. An interesting physical feature is they have flexible claws that can retract. They are agile animals that can climb into trees after a kill to consume it without concern about other animals taking it from them. During the daytime they often are resting in trees. They feed on almost everything from birds to large antelopes and domestic livestock. Leopards have distinctive skins, are very secretive making them difficult to locate, and are solitary animals that are only rarely found in groups.

There’s another reason for leopards to stay aloft: They don’t exactly get along with their fellow Big Fiver, the African lion. If a lion has a chance to kill a leopard, it will.

African Elephants

Big Five

The biggest of the Big Five is the African savanna elephant, which can weigh up to seven tons. Their gestation period is 22 months and can only give birth to one baby at a time. They live approximately 65 years. Their eating habits enable them to eat almost anything in the bush, consuming up to 770lbs of food a day while feeding 22hours daily.

Savanna elephants are large enough to change the landscape, they can uproot vegetables using their tusks and dig trenches to locate water under the earth during the dry season with their trunks. They have large brains and excellent hearing but poor sight, teeth that can replace themselves 6 times during their lifetime, and can make infrasonic sounds humans cannot hear and trumpet-like sounds when they feel threatened.

African elephants live in groups and are led by a male elephant. Prior to mating, males are forced out of the family group into another group so they don’t mate with a sibling which helps to preserve their health but are allowed back into their family group after 30 years.

The Africans are proud to say that you can see that the African elephant’s ear is a map of Africa. Fortunately, you will see African elephants migrating. Even the little elephants that have just arrived will be subjected to the cruel test of nature. Many of the weak images that cannot keep up with the team are only the fate of being eliminated by the law of nature's survival of the fittest. Because the ivory of their tusks are valuable, poachers have reduced their populations all over the world.


africa rhino

There are two types of African rhinoceros, accounting for two-fifths of the global rhinoceros species. African rhinos are divided into black rhinos and white rhinos (all are huge, with a top weight of 5,000 pounds and horns that can grow up to five feet long). In fact, the colours are grey. There is a historical joke here. The black rhinoceros is precious, the upper lip is a pointed triangle, the white rhinoceros is rare, and the upper lip is a wide square. Then when determining the white rhinoceros with a wide mouth, it should be called "wide" lip, and the result is heard as "white" (white). Later it was called the white rhinoceros.

What differentiates them is the shape of their mouths. White rhinos have broad flat lips to facilitate grazing and black rhinos have long pointed lips to help them browse for food in foliage. Another difference between these 2 types of rhino is that white rhino are more aggressive than black rhinos. When white rhinos walk with their babies, the baby rhino walks ahead of the mother, making her very dangerous when approached. In contrast, the black rhino babies walk behind their mother and she is less dangerous when approached. The rare black rhinos that are an endangered species are located primarily in the Ngorongoro Conservation area and Northern Serengeti. Because rhino horns are believed to have a variety of natural powers, this has inflated the value of their horns and, as a result, threatened all rhinos with extinction due to poachers.

African buffalos

best safaris

Africa has 2 types of buffalos. One type is Water Buffalos and the other type is Cape Buffalos. Tanzanian buffalo are Cape Buffalos. Cape Buffalos are extremely dangerous animals that process a lot of adrenalin enzymes, which causes them to become angry quickly. Male and female buffalo both have horns, but the males’ curve upward and fuse together in the center, forming a solid bony plate called a boss. It’s a helpful defense—as is being more than three times heavier than their lion adversaries. Male buffalos have big horns that make them especially threatening, its hard and powerful corner can penetrate the wagon! they have always lived in the most powerful young and middle-aged bulls. They normally stay in groups of around 6,000 and grazing in a vast feeding zone. Old buffalos stay together in their own bachelor group. Their skins and horns are very valuable which makes them a target of poachers.

They are herbivores that normally feed on tall grasses and are usually the first to enter areas after it rains to nibble on new grasses. They spend most of their time resting in the shade and have a poor metabolic system.

Experts studying African animals believe that these buffalos are the most dangerous of them. The characteristics of horn are flat at the top like the Indian buffalo looks the same, but if you are in Tanzania, you will be able to see them so close. You can found thousands of them in the Serengeti National Park.